RSS Feed

Stop. Refresh. Play.

Posted on

I know it’s been a while. Hell, it’s been a LONG while, but fear not. I am back. At least for now. Who knows how long it will last this time, but something is better than nothing, right? Right.

So, where to begin?

Since we last met… er… spoke… er… since I last blogged, we have moved to Edmonton and are FINALLY settled in. I have thought about blogging most days since I’ve been here, but between classes, getting unpacked, and sorting out back troubles, my time has been monopolized by menial, non-blogging activities. Unfortunate, I know.

For those who don’t know, I’m going to school at NAIT taking digital media and IT. I’m really excited to see where it takes me but I feel like it’s been a slow start. I’m confident in my abilities and am doing really well in all of my classes, but for such a short program, I thought we’d be learning a lot more right off the bat than we are. It’s probably better this way because it gives me time to work on the projects that I’m really passionate about. I’d link to my projects that I’ve done so far, but I’m not all that proud of most of them. Once they are up to my own standards, a link you will have, but for now, this blog will have to suffice!

I’ve kind of let politics fall by the way-side lately, save for the Calgary municipal election. At first, I was unsure of who would be the best candidate, but like most Calgarians, I figured it out at the last minute. Regardless of the winner, I am PROUD of Calgarians (particularly YOUNG Calgarians) for getting their asses out to vote! It took a special candidate to spark the motivation, but he did it! Congratulations, Mr. Nenshi! Hopefully I don’t forget about politics altogether while I’m in this new program, I do still love it, but it wont make me the dolla bills that I’m going to need to survive. So, on hold it is.

Speaking of politics and passion, might I recommend two FANTASTIC books for you all to read. Recommended to me by Paul’s lovely mother, these two books will make you open your eyes to a world of possibilities.

Book #1 – Three Cups of Tea – Greg Mortenson, and

Book #2 – I Shall Not Hate – Dr. Izzeldin Abuelaish

Both of these books are still “in progress” for me… I’m pretty bad when it comes to sitting down to read when I’m at home. I need to start taking these books to school. But, what I have read, speaks volumes and I am excited to finish them so I can properly promote them!

Anyway, now I’ve made more of a novel than a blog post… but hopefully now that you’re mostly caught up on what I’ve been doing, subsequent posts will be shorted and more readable.

~MeganLindsay

About Megan

I've recently finished my Political Science degree at the University of Victoria but have decided to follow my passion to Edmonton. I am going to NAIT taking Digital Media and IT. I'm learning about what I love and I LOVE it. I'm a food junkie who's learning to eat food that's better for me, a sports fan, design freak, politics junkie, and music lover.

Leave a Reply

