RSS Feed

P90X: Day One

Posted on

Well, the first P90X session is complete and more on that shortly.

What is P90X you ask? It’s an intensive ,90 day workout program whereby you go from being fat to totally ripped. This, my friends, is precisely what I need. Despite having lost a whopping 30lbs already, there is still work to do. Plus, I’ve hit the wall… the one where simply eating right with occasional exercise is no longer enough. So, we – we being Paul and I – bought some weights, a pull-up bar (with an assistance band for me because I have literally ZERO arm strength) and we’ve made a commitment to ourselves and to each other that we will follow the plan for the next 90 days. How exhilarating!

Let me start by saying that for a man on a TV screen, Tony Horton is the most motivating man in the world. And he does it right… he’s not just pushy and insulting like you usually see, he regularly says things like “if you want to modify it this way to make it a bit easier, or if you want to cut down on the reps, go right ahead! It’s what works for you!” I think I’m going to like his style!

Today was ‘core synergistics‘. If you’re like me, you’re scratching your head thinking you have no idea what that might entail. Well, it turns out that core synergistics is the active use of a large majority of the muscles we use every day – it kind of combines cardio with a large variety of core strengthening exercises. We found it involved a lot of twisting which made for some balance issues for me… haha. Anyway, I went about 50-60% effort through the whole workout; I figured that after so long without doing anything AND after dropping 30lbs, I didn’t have much in me to fuel much more than that. I feel good about the effort I put in and I could definitely feel the workout.Today’s tip of the day was “engage“; Tony said to focus on really engaging certain muscles while doing each routine so I did just that; I tried to focus more on doing the exercises correctly, rather than doing more of them or doing them faster. Good choice, I’d say because you’re more likely to hurt yourself if you’re doing it wrong!

We also took what Paul and I have dubbed our ‘fatographs‘ (aka the ‘before picture’) and we also took our measurements. I’m posting my measurements here so as to be somewhat accountable to … someone … other than myself!

Arms: 12.5″
Chest: 36.5″
Waist: 30″
Hips: 40″
Thighs:  24″

My major goals are to knock a few inches off my arms, hips and thighs and to tone my tummy! I know, these are the goals that every girl wants but for me to be really healthy, it’s what needs to be done!

Tomorrow is cardio and if I thought today was a workout, I think I’m in for a treat!

I’ll keep you all posted throughout this crazy journey and hopefully that will help me stay on track!

xoMeganLindsay

About Megan

I've recently finished my Political Science degree at the University of Victoria but have decided to follow my passion to Edmonton. I am going to NAIT taking Digital Media and IT. I'm learning about what I love and I LOVE it. I'm a food junkie who's learning to eat food that's better for me, a sports fan, design freak, politics junkie, and music lover.

3 responses »

  1. good luck and congrats on the weight loss. I think that plan would kill me about 2 minutes into the first day. 😀

    The Grumpy Man

    Reply
  2. Good for you lady! I think you’re doing amazing! It’s great you and Paul have each other to stay motivated and committed to the program. You can do it! 🙂 xxx

    Reply
    • Thanks Katalan! It’s very exciting! I went shopping this week and bought medium shirts and Banana Republic and size 10 pants at American Eagle. I can’t even remember the last time I could do that! Just you wait until P90X is done… I’ll be smalls and size 8’s! LOL

      Reply

Leave a Reply

